List of NCAA Division I men’s basketball champions

The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament is a single-elimination tournament for men’s college basketball teams in the United States.

It determines the champion of Division I, the top level of play at the NCAA, along with the press frequently describes the winner as the national champion of college basketball. [2][3] The NCAA Tournament was held annually since 1939, and its own field climbed from eight teams at the start to sixty-five teams from 2001; instead of 2011, sixty-eight teams get involved in the tournament. Teams may obtain invitations by winning a conference tournament or receiving an at-large bid from a 10-person committee. The semifinals of the tournament are known as the Final Four and so are held at a different city each year, along with the championship game; Indianapolis, the town where the NCAA is based, will host the Final Four every five years until 2040. Each winning college receives a rectangular, gold-plated trophy made of wood.
The initial NCAA Tournament was coordinated by the National Association of Basketball Coaches. Oregon won the inaugural tournament, defeating Ohio State 46–33 from the first championship match. Ahead of the 1941 championship, command of the event was provided to the NCAA. In the early years of the championship, it had been considered less significant than the National Invitation Tournament (NIT), a New York City-based event. ] Teams could compete in both events at the same year, and three of these that did so–Utah at 1944, Kentucky in 1949, and City College of New York (CCNY) in 1950–won the NCAA Tournament. The 1949–50 CCNY team won both championships (beating Bradley in both finals), and is the only school basketball team to accomplish this feat. [14] From the mid-1950s, the NCAA Tournament became the more prestigious of both occasions, and in 1971 the NCAA barred universities from playing in other championships, like the NIT, if they were invited to the NCAA Championship. The 2013 championship won by Louisville was the very first men’s basketball national name to be vacated by the NCAA after the faculty and its coach at the time, Rick Pitino, were implicated in a 2015 sex scandal involving recruits.
The University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) has been the most prosperous faculty in the NCAA Tournament, winning 11 national titles. Ten of these championships came during a 12-year stretch from 1964 to 1975. UCLA also holds the record for the most consecutive championships, winning seven in a row from 1967 to 1973. Kentucky gets the second-most titles, with eight. North Carolina is next with six championships, while Duke and Indiana follow five each. Virginia is the most recent champion, having defeated Texas Tech in the final of the 2019 tournament. One of head trainers, John Wooden is the all-time pioneer with 10 championships; he coached UCLA during their period of succeeding in the 1960s and 1970s. Duke’s Mike Krzyzewski is second one time with five names.

Read more: