NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament

The NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament, also known and branded as NCAA March Madness, is a single-elimination tournament played each spring in the USA, now featuring 64 college basketball teams in the Division I level of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA), to determine the national championship. The championship has been Ohio State coach Harold Olsen’s Notion, and Was Made in 1939 from the National Association of Basketball Coaches. [1] Played during March, it’s turned into one of the most famous sporting events in the USA. [citation ]
The tournament teams comprise champions from 32 Division I conferences (which get automatic bids), and 36 teams which are awarded at-large berths. These”at-large” teams are chosen by an NCAA selection committee, then announced in a nationally televised event on the Sunday preceding the”First Four” play-in games, now held in Dayton, Ohio, and dubbed Selection Sunday. The 68 teams are broken up into four regions and organized to some single-elimination”bracket”, which pre-determines, when a team wins a game, which team it will face next. Each group is”seeded”, or rated, within its region from 1 to 16. After the First Four, the championship occurs throughout the course of three weekends, at sites across the USA. Teams, seeded by rank, undergo a single-game elimination bracket beginning with a”first four” consisting of 8 low-seeded teams playing in 4 matches for a position in the first round the Tuesday and Wednesday prior to the first round begins, a first round comprising 64 teams playing in 32 games within the course of a week, the”Sweet Sixteen” and”Elite Eight” rounds the next weekend and week, respectively– and — for the last weekend of the championship — the”Final Four” round. The Final Four is played during the weekend of April. These four groups, one from each area (East, South, Midwest, and West), compete at a preselected location for the national championship.
The tournament has been at least partially televised since 1969. [2] Currentlythe matches are aired by CBS, TBS, TNT, and truTV under the trade-name NCAA March Madness. Since 2011, all games are available for viewing and internationally. As television coverage has increased, so also has the championship’s popularity. At present, millions of Americans fill out a bracket,[3] attempting to properly predict the results of 63 matches of the championship (not including the First Four matches ).
With 11 national titles, UCLA has the record for the many NCAA Men’s Division I Basketball Championships; John Wooden coached UCLA to 10 of its 11 titles. The University of Kentucky (UK) is next, with eight national titles. The University of North Carolina is third, with six national titles, and Duke University and Indiana University are tied for fourth with five national titles. The University of Connecticut is sixth with four titles. The University of Kansas (KU) & Villanova are tied for 7th with three national titles. Since 1985, once the tournament expanded to 64 teams, Duke has won five championships; North Carolina and UConn have won four; Kentucky & Villanova have three; Kansas & Florida have two; and Arizona, Arkansas, Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Louisville[a], Syracuse, UCLA, UNLV, and Virginia have you.

Read more: